Oceania Road Championships

Following the teams strong pedigree in the Oceania Road Championships, we came into the race with high hopes and expectations for the team.

As soon as the gun started the action was on in the 158-kilometre race covering six laps of the undulating course around Railton. The first attack of the day was from our defending champion Chris Harper who looked to animate the race from the start. Chris’s break was joined by was a strong bunch of 14 riders, which included our Dylan Sunderland. Working well together the break established a one minute and 45 second lead with two laps of the course complete, as the peloton worked together to keep them in check.

Unhappy with the composition of the group Chris was again the aggressor as he looked to show his status as the defending champion. As the group behind reacted to Harper's move only Christie, Dyball, Griffin, Morey, Thomas, Vine and Dylan Sunderland were able to keep the pace as the breakaway whittled down to eight. The smaller group was able to work well together and steadily built an advantage of 50 seconds on the chasers and a further 30 seconds on the quickly reducing peloton. With the race on the penultimate lap, Dyball sensed his chance and attacked the climb on lap five and quickly soloed away with rest of the break unable to respond. Harper, Christie and Morey set off in pursuit though Dyball quickly showed the form that won him the time trial gold with the advantage quickly growing.

As the bell sounded Dyball was clear by two and a half minutes with the peloton a further two minutes back. Attacks came from both the chase and peloton though each move proved to be short-lived. Dyball had plenty of time to celebrate as he crossed the line clear by more than four minutes. In the sprint for silver Harper was the first to open through the uphill drag to the line allowed Christie to claw his way over the top with Harper completing the podium.

Whilst the Elite men's race was ongoing we also had a contingent in the u23’s race that was running subsequently. Tyler Lindorff stepped up and took out the u23 crown!

© 2022 Team BridgeLane - Future Racing